Parks & Recreation Program Guide

Welcome to our program guide. Click on a program name for more details. Click on the "Register Here" link, where available, to register for the selected program.
 

No Group Value

Fri 04/07/23  Easter on the Green Prep

Adult (18+)

Thu 12/01/22  Greens Wreath Workshop
Event ID: 47693
Create beautiful and fragrant natural décor for your home with the Will Rogers Gardens annual traditional holiday greens class. Instructors will show you how to make traditional holiday wreaths from scratch using evergreen boughs. You can also incorporate greens and seed/fruit found in the Margaret Annis Boys Arboretum. Materials supplied.
 
Date: Thu Dec 1  Time: 6:00pm-8:00pm Location: Ed Lycan Conservatory
 
Ages: 16+
Cost: $35
Register Here!
 
Sat 12/03/22  Greens Wreath Workshop
Event ID: 49951
Create beautiful and fragrant natural décor for your home with the Will Rogers Gardens annual traditional holiday greens class. Instructors will show you how to make traditional holiday wreaths from scratch using evergreen boughs. You can also incorporate greens and seed/fruit found in the Margaret Annis Boys Arboretum. Materials supplied.
 
Date: Sat Dec 3  Time: 9:00am-11:00am Location: Will Rogers Ex Bldg
 
Ages: 16+
Cost: $35
Register Here!
 
Sat 01/28/23  Winter Plant and Tool Care
Event ID: 50432
In this class we will teach the basics of tree pruning, and, while you are here we will show you how to sharpen those tools of yours as well. You may bring one tool for us to sharpen for you. Dress for the weather as we will be heading outside for this hands-on class. Hot Cocoa provided.
 
Date: Sat Jan 28  Time: 10:00am-11:30am Location: Meet at the Garden Ex Bldg
 
Ages: Adult
Cost: $10
Register Here!
 
Sat 02/04/23  Hypertufa Workshop
Event ID: [Replace with Event ID]
In this class you will learn the step-by-step process to making hypertufa pots, then dig in and create your own. What is hypertufa you may ask? A lightweight, durable hand mixed pot made from concrete, peat moss and perlite. These containers are perfect for succulents and rock garden plantings due to their porous nature. Please bring a pair of heavyweight kitchen gloves and wear clothes that can get dirty! You will take home what you create, one hand-crafted pot.
 
Date: Sat Feb 4  Time: 9:00am-10:30am Location: Meet at the Garden Ex Bldg
 
Ages: 16+
Cost: $25
Register Here!
 
Sat 02/11/23  Valentines Succulent Wreath
Event ID: 50434

Come with your Sweetie or by yourself and create and take home your own succulent masterpiece. Wreath and succulents provided. Fee includes materials for one heart-shaped succulent wreath to take home. Families are welcome too, price per wreath. 

 
Date: Sat Feb 11  Time: 9:00am-10:30 Location: Ed Lycan Conservatory
 
Ages: 16+
Cost: $35
Register Here!
 
Sat 04/22/23  Arbor Day Festival
Fri 05/12/23  Composting Classes

All Ages

Sat 01/21/23  Winter Plant ID
Event ID: 50431
Have a nice hot cup of Cocoa and then let's go for a quiet walk in the gardens and discuss how to identify the shrubs and trees in the winter when they are not cloaked in their summer garb.
 
Date: Sat Jan 21  Time: 10:00am-11:30am Location: Meet at the Garden Ex Center
 
Ages: All Ages
Cost: $5
Register Here!
 
Sat 04/01/23  Fungi Class
Sat 04/08/23  Easter on the Green
Sat 10/28/23  Halloween on the Green

School Age (6-18)

Sat 12/10/22  Children's Mini Greens Wreath Workshop
Event ID: 50410
Let's explore the arboretum collecting greens and berries to create a miniature wreath for your dinner table or door.  Learn some basic wreath making skills while having fun together as a family.
 
Date: Sat Dec 10  Time: 10:00am-11:30am Location: Will Rogers Exhibition Bldg
 
Ages: 7-18
Cost: $10
Register Here!